Okefenoke REMC celebrated its annual Youth Awards Banquet, awarding 10 scholarships and selecting four delegates for the annual Youth Tour Leadership Experience in Washington, D.C.

This is the 26th year OREMC has awarded scholarships to students residing in one of the eight counties it serves—Brantley, Camden, Charlton, Glynn, Ware and Wayne counties in Georgia, and Baker and Nassau counties in Florida. Ten scholarships of $2,000 each were awarded to students accepted to a college or technical school and based on their autobiographical sketch, academic achievement, extra-curricular and community service activities, letters of recommendation and financial need. Their awards bring OREMC’s total scholarships to $220,500 presented to 231 students over 26 years.

This year’s winners are: Demi Jones and Carsyn Griffis from Baker County High School; Grant Bennett and Kade Chapman from Brantley County High School; Brantley Sloan and Chloe Brevaldo from Charlton County High School; Chinal Patel from Brunswick High School; Jenny Ard, Trinity Christian Academy, and Rylee English, Hilliard Middle-Senior High School, both in Nassau County; and Jameson Gordon from Wayne County High School.

From the OREMC Scholarship winners, two students are selected as finalists for the Walter Harrison Scholarship, which is funded and awarded by the Georgia Electric Membership Corporation. Selected students must be accepted at and planning to attend a college or technical school in Georgia. This year’s finalists from OREMC are Grant Bennett and Brantley Sloan.

Four Delegates Selected for Youth Tour Leadership Experience

OREMC has selected four students to join Youth Tour delegates from Georgia’s 40 other electric membership cooperatives for an all-expenses paid trip to Washington, D.C., in June for the Youth Tour Leadership Experience. While in Washington, the students will join approximately 1,500 young people who will be representing rural electric cooperatives from across the United States. Highlights of the stay in our nation’s capital will include cruising down the Potomac River, placing a wreath on the Tomb of the Unknown in Arlington Cemetery, touring the U.S. Supreme Court, the Washington National Cathedral.

OREMC’s Youth Tour delegates for 2019 are Mady Kate Bullard, Brantley County High School; Samantha Baxter, Charlton County High School; Sydney Starling, Hillard Middle-Senior High School; and Blake McIlwain, Wayne County High School. This is the 27th year OREMC has participated in the Youth Tour bringing the total number of sponsored delegates to 101.

Presenting the students’ awards were OREMC Member Service Representative Dewayne Johns and Wayne Combs, president, OREMC Board of Directors. Also receiving recognition at the ceremony held at Brantley County High School were the parents and educators supporting the student winners, and the Brantley County School Nutrition Program for catering the event.